Hola, Danielle here! So I’m just a tad behind (I still owe you MY recount of the 4 mile beach run and the 10 miler), but I thought I would do a quick post about this pathetic week of workouts in hopes that this will NEVER happen again!

After the 10 miler on Sunday, I was just exhausted. My right knee and left ankle were hurting and for the first time since I started running (over a year ago), my leg muscles were shot. I think my lack of sleep finally caught up to me and I needed a BREAK! So I took Monday off from working out… and Tuesday… and Wednesday… oh yea, and Thursday… That’s 4 days with not a single second of running, ellipticalling, or weights. Who am I?! I loved the extra sleep I got from not heading to the gym at the crack of dawn, but I felt like CRAP and knew I had to get my butt in the gym on Friday.

My legs were still in lazy mode, so I stuck to the elliptical. 45 mins on the lovely machine followed by 10 mins of abs — whew! Felt amazing! I woke up this morning with a sore throat and NO desire to run, but I knew it had to be done. So I bundled up (30 degrees out there!) and pounded out 5.5.

Total time: 50:40

Mile 1: 9:03

Mile 2: 9:49 (two long hills)

Mile 3: 8:35

Mile 4: 9:13

Mile 5: 9:41

Last .5: 4:19

Not my best run, but overall, it felt really good to run even though it was freezing. The knee and ankle held up until mile 5 when they started rebelling, but I expected that. They’re currently being punished with ice packs :). But the one thing I always love on my runs (and probably what hooked me in the first place) is the gorgeous view of NYC when I run the piers. Simply amazing.

I know I need to step up the training this coming week before my taper because it’s only TWO WEEKS UNTIL TOUGH MUDDER. Ahhhhh!

Hope you all have a great weekend. Look for another post from me today or tomorrow with race recaps!

 

This post wouldn’t be complete without a *little bit* of cheese… today is my 8 month with my bf. I’ve never been happier 😛

Danielle

