Hello and happy Wednesday!  I don’t know about you, but I thought we were done with this winter weather!  In fact, last Friday was one of the best commutes of my life and with each drive in sunshine, my love for driving is renewed. 

So onto this past weekend and the Freehold St Paddy’s 10 Mile Run.

Friday was a simple night spent with my roomie and oldest friends, Stef.  We ended up going for a long walk by the water because it was uber nice outside.  I also happily gave in to my craving for a Shamrock Shake, they should really keep these year round.  We didn’t return until 10:30 and then I went to bed to prep for the busy Saturday ahead. 

I woke up nice and early Saturday and the day was spent with my step-mom Ann, her God-Daughter Nicole and Danielle brunching at Saks and shopping the day away at Bloomingdale’s, Saks and Urban Outfitters.  I didn’t take any pictures of the shopping, but I did get one of my AMAZING salad, for $20 it better be!

I practically licked the plate, yummm!  After dinner that night we hopped back on the Path and headed to our apartment to pick up Stef so we could head to my parents house which is closer to the race on Sunday.  Stef and I took some time to look at old scrap books and photos from our high school days and we didn’t get to bed until midnight.  Next morning Danielle, Stef and I were off to Freehold for the St Paddy’s Day 10 Mile Race.

I was quite apprehensive to run such a long distance because my last run before was March 7th for a total of 3.5 miles, I have been battling a cold ever since.  In the days leading up to the race, I had lost partial hearing and was attached to a pack of tissues, running probably wasn’t the best idea.  Despite my sister’s urges to withdraw from the race, I was determined to finish even if I had to walk the whole thing.

I brought a travel pack of tissues to put in my pocket and I was ready to go… that was until they fell out during my warm up jog without me noticing (FAIL)!  I ended up grabbing some toilet paper and calling it a day.  Even though it was quite cold out, the sun was shinning and I was happy to be outside, before I knew it the race had started and I was on my way.  I said good luck to Stef and Danielle as they pulled away from me, both of them did really well.

I got about 5 miles until I absolutely had to stop and blow my nose, as soon as I stopped moving, my muscles tightened and any chance of running the entire last 5 miles was no longer possible.  I alternated between running and walking for the second half and ended with a time of 2:06 which I was more than happy with considering how horrible I felt.

Finishing Photo’s:

Stef being a baller and finishing her first ever race in 1:29!  So proud!

The twin also did amazing finishing just over 1:30

And me… putting on a brave face and wishing I was in bed with a large mug of tea with honey!

Running wasn’t the best idea and I felt much worse after but I am so happy I did it because the race was a small and fun.    I’m off to eat dinner and work on recovering from this cold so I can celebrate Stef’s big 25th birthday this weekend.

-Michelle

