I am officially a slacker and it has been over a week since my last post!  I have been fighting a cold since last Wednesday and have had trouble finding the motivation to hop on the computer instead of catching up on my sleep.  Today I am going to talk about something new….. beats, as in music.  It is clear from the title that music plays a major roll in my life and I am surprised it has taken me so long to write about it.

My love of music has always been stong, but the genre has certainly changed over the years.  When I was in high school, I was all about boy bands like O-Town, NYSNC, Dreamsteet (the list goes on) and I attended the radio station’s Pop-Fest.  I also loved Sum 41, Blink 182, Green Day, All American Rejects and Brand New– but you would never find me at one of their concerts.  

I had serious love for O-Town, specifically Jacob, and the best concert in High School was when I saw them from the 4th row after sneaking onto the floor and finding empty seats!

DreamStreet had to be my biggest obsession… although I am sure most people have never heard of them.  My sister and I waited in line at FYE to get their autographs, went to Philly to see them in concert and tried to learn their dance moves from the concert VHS we had… it was love ❤

During my young college days, I was a fan of Kelly Clarkson, Hoobastank, Ashlee Simpson (her CD was the anthem of my summer before Freshman Year), Ryan Cabrera and Jesse McCartney.

I loved Jesse.

It wasn’t until Sophomore year that I got really interested in what most people refer to as ’emo’ music.   This is the music I still like today.

I decided to bring this up now because Wednesday, I went to my first concert of the season! It was at a venue that was practically my home for a good portion on Spring 2009, Highline Ballroom

But it was the first time we sat in the restaurant section.  I normally opt to jump around a bit in the crowd of tweens, but I wasn’t feelin’ it last night plus we hadn’t eaten dinner yet.  Dani and I ordered the Vegan Veggie Burgers and they were awesome!  Rodrigo got the Angus Sliders and said they were really good also.  We sat in our little booth away from the chaos and enjoyed music, perfect night if you ask me.

The lineup:

Go Radio

I was really excited to see them because the lead singer is a former member of Mayday Parade, a band I have loved for years.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t a fan of them live.  The singer sounded off to me.

Runner Runner

They have a very special place in my heart.  I went to my first show of their’s thinking I had no idea who they were…. until they started singing “So Obvious”, a song that I had been playing on repeat that entire week but my iTunes identified it as being another band.  That was my favorite set of their’s ever!  I have seen them (I think) four times now and the second and third were really disappointing.  Not because they were bad, but because the sound of the microphone wasn’t high enough to hear their voices over the music, which happens to be one of my biggest pet peeves!  They were amazing last night, definitely put me in a great mood.

Anarbor

I LOVE ANARBOR. Oddly enough, my sister discovered Anarbor during my internship at MLB just shortly before my supervisor told me about a discussion she had with her best friend from home.  Her best friend was describing how excited her brother was because they just got signed for the entirety of Warped Tour… turns out he is in the band Anarbor.  Very small world.  This was my second time seeing them and they were even better than the first.

Valencia

This was my fourth time seeing Valencia, I have seen them at two music festivals (Warped and Bamboozle I believe) and twice at Highline.  This was not my favorite set of theirs due to sound issues, I think the snare was too loud or staticy.  But  I was happy to see them since they have disappeared from the touring scene since the last time I saw them two years ago.  I think they were recording their new album.   The song “Still Need You Around” was the highlight of the night (Just before Runner Runners acoustic, Cant Wait) which was written when Shane’s mom was diagnosed with Breast Cancer and it is absolutely beautiful.  Can’t wait to see these guys again at Bamboozle.

There are few things in this world that make me more happy than a concert, especially if they are all day long festivals on nice summer days!

So there is the short version of my musical taste.. hope it wasn’t too wordy.

